Ebony is a small hamlet in the parish of Stone-cum-Ebony on the borders of East Sussex and Kent. Ebony was once an island reached by ferry from Reading Street when the River Rother flowed past the Isle of Oxney on its way out to sea. The island known as Ebony is now called Chapel Bank as there was once a church built on the island. In 1858 it was decided to move the church, St Mary the Virgin, as it had fallen in bad repair and much of the population had abandoned the island in favour of Reading Street. The church was moved stone by stone to its present location in Reading Street using horse and cart to carry the masonry.
Saturday 2nd July
Location: Rye Harbour
In this third and final walk of the series, Barry Yates, the nature reserve’s manager, will explore the southwest part ... more